Returning

image

‘Pray?

I prayed.

Give?

I gave.

Love?

I tried.

Laugh?

I cried.’

She scribbled the words down in a fit of apathy. Not sleeping, not eating, not sure if she was feeling much anymore. The only motion she could muster was this fluttering of blue ink.

The pen left her finger tips and rolled down the side of her bed.

The moment was coming and it had all seemed in vain.

84 years… it felt like it had only been 23.

Cheated by her own breath, she began her return to the place from which she came.

The Daily Post Writing Challenge: Digging for Roots

14 thoughts on “Returning

  1. Hell there Ninti, I saw you liked one of my comments so I figures I might as well swing by here and see what your blog is about, and to my wonderful surprise I not only like the way you write but the whole theme of your blog. Our journey in life, with the ups and downs. Hopefully we do have more ups than downs but it is those downs that we should learn from and grow. Nice to find you.

    Like

    1. Thanks Charly, that’s really nice to read. I’m still pretty new to blogging and finding it really amazing to meet so many wonderful bloggers like yourself.

      And yes, we learn the most from the down times, but here’s to having some good times too πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. You know what I call this wordpress thing, my free online university. Who would have thought I would start to read and then love and then write poetry….not until I read other people here. Plus a bunch of other people with different themes that I find always entertaining, interesting intellectually, itΒ΄s just a whole learning experience for me.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. So true Charly, it’s an incredible opportunity to expand your mind and it makes writing so accessible…. something I’ve never experienced but am enjoying. I look forward to your next piece, you definitely have spark and authenticity in your writing πŸ™‚

        Like

    1. Thanks JR, I think most of us feel this way at least now and then… for some reason unknown to me, it seems to be a big part of being on a spiritual path. Dark night of the soul or something like that?

      I find apathy to be one of the most nasty emotions though, it’s so debilitating. I hope today that more of us feel the joy, love and happiness that sits on the other side of that emotional pendulum πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for visiting my blog and liking my recent post. I’m so glad I stopped by to visit your page. I just read Returning and found it very moving. I look forward to discovering what else you have written.

    Like

Leave a Reply

